¶ Travel & Tech toolsFree · No sign-up

Checked Bag Size and Weight Limits by Airline

Updated October 19, 2026

Most US airlines take a checked bag of up to 62 linear inches (length + width + height) and 50 lb for the standard bag fee. Enter your suitcase to see which airlines accept it, and what an overweight or oversize bag costs.

Bag size, with wheels and handles
Cabin

Your bag measures 57 linear inches (145 cm). It flies with no size or weight fee on 13 of 15 airlines.

AirlineSizeWeightExtra fee, each way
US airlines
AmericanOKOKNone
SouthwestOKOKNone
DeltaOKOKNone
FrontierOK8 lb over: $75 fee$75
UnitedOKOKNone
AllegiantOKOKNone
JetBlueOKOKNone
AlaskaOKOKNone
HawaiianOKOKNone
Sun CountryOKOKNone
International airlines
RyanairOK1.3 kg over: €26 fee€26
easyJetOKOKNone
British AirwaysOKOKNone
Air CanadaOKOKNone
LufthansaOKOKNone

Extra fees are for size and weight only, on top of the bag fee. Most airlines measure length + width + height; British Airways and Ryanair set a limit for each side, so your longest side is compared with their longest limit. Ryanair is checked against its 20 kg bag. Leave the weight empty to check size only.

Checked bag size, weight and fees by airline

American, Southwest, Delta, United, JetBlue, Alaska, Hawaiian and Sun Country all allow 62 linear inches and 50 lb. Frontier allows only 40 lb, and Allegiant allows 80 linear inches. Fees are for one bag, each way, in economy on domestic flights.

AirlineMax sizeWeight1st bag2nd bag
American62 in (158 cm)50 lb (23 kg)$45 / $50$55 / $60
Southwest62 in (157 cm)50 lb (23 kg)$45$55
Delta62 in (157 cm)50 lb (23 kg)$45$55
Frontier62 in (157 cm)40 lb (18.1 kg)Varies by flight; cheapest when booking
United62 in (157 cm)50 lb (23 kg)$45 / $50Not published
Allegiant80 in (203 cm)50 lb (22 kg)Varies by route; higher at the airport
JetBlue62 in (157.48 cm)50 lb (22.68 kg)$45 / $49$59 / $69
Alaska62 in (157 cm)50 lb (23 kg)$45$55
Hawaiian62 in (157 cm)50 lb (23 kg)$45$55
Sun Country62 in (157 cm)50 lb (23 kg)Varies by flight; most at the gate

Where two prices are shown, the first is paid ahead and the second later: American online vs. at the airport, United prepaid vs. in the airport lobby and JetBlue more than 24 hours before departure vs. within 24 hours. JetBlue prices are off-peak. Sizes include wheels and handles; cm figures are converted where the airline publishes inches only.

International airlines

AirlineMax sizeWeightChecked bag
Ryanair80 x 120 x 120 cm (31 x 47 x 47 in)per side20 kg (44 lb)Varies by route and date; €/£59.99 at the airport
easyJet275 cm (108 in)23 kg (51 lb)Varies by route; £60 at the bag drop desk
British Airways90 x 75 x 43 cm (35 x 30 x 17 in)per side23 kg (50 lb)One bag included unless your fare has no checked bag
Air Canada158 cm (62 in)23 kg (50 lb)Shown in Air Canada's baggage calculator
Lufthansa158 cm (62 in)23 kg (51 lb)Included on most fares; USD 90 on Basic or Light to the US

British Airways and Ryanair limit each side rather than the total. Ryanair sells a 20 kg bag (and a 23 kg one at booking); easyJet sells 15 kg and 23 kg bags and extra weight up to 32 kg.

What is the standard checked bag size?

62 linear inches (158 cm) and 50 lb (23 kg). That is the limit at American, Southwest, Delta, United, JetBlue, Alaska, Hawaiian and Sun Country, and at Air Canada and Lufthansa in centimeters. A bag within it pays only the standard bag fee. Bigger or heavier bags are usually still accepted, for an oversize or overweight fee, up to a hard maximum.

The exceptions:

  • Frontier allows 62 linear inches but only 40 lb (18.1 kg). A 41 to 50 lb bag pays a $75 overweight fee.
  • Allegiant allows 80 linear inches (203 cm) and 50 lb, and charges $75 for a bag over 80 inches.
  • United gives its maximum as 30 x 20 x 12 inches (76 x 52 x 30 cm), or 62 total inches.
  • British Airways limits each side: 90 x 75 x 43 cm (35 x 30 x 17 in), up to 23 kg in economy.
  • Ryanair allows up to 80 x 120 x 120 cm and easyJet up to 275 cm in total, with the weight set by the bag you book.

Which suitcase sizes fit 62 linear inches?

Suitcases are sold by height, but airlines measure all three sides. These example sizes show how the total adds up:

Size (H x W x D)Linear inchesLinear cmWithin 62 in?
22 x 14 x 9 in45114Yes
24 x 16 x 10 in50127Yes
26 x 18 x 11 in55140Yes
27 x 19 x 11 in57145Yes
28 x 19 x 12 in59150Yes
29 x 20 x 12 in61155Yes
30 x 20 x 12 in62157Yes
30 x 21 x 13 in64163No; only Allegiant
32 x 21 x 13 in66168No; only Allegiant

A 30 x 20 x 12 inch bag sits exactly on the limit. Wheels, handles and side pockets count, and an expandable suitcase can grow past 62 inches once unzipped and packed, so measure it full.

How to measure linear inches

  1. Pack the bag the way you will check it, with any expansion zip open if you use it.
  2. Height: stand it upright and measure from the floor to the top of the retracted handle, wheels included.
  3. Width: measure across the widest point, including side handles.
  4. Depth: measure front to back at the deepest point, including front pockets and wheel housings.
  5. Add the three. 28 + 19 + 12 inches is 59 linear inches, within 62. In centimeters, multiply the total by 2.54: 59 inches is 150 cm.

Checked bag weight limit by airline

Economy bags are held to 50 lb (23 kg) at every US airline here except Frontier (40 lb). American, Delta, United, JetBlue, Alaska and Hawaiian allow 70 lb (32 kg) in first or business class. Above the included weight you pay an overweight fee, up to a maximum: American, United and Sun Country turn away bags over 100 lb, Delta and Frontier refuse bags of 100 lb or more, and JetBlue refuses bags over 99 lb.

AirlineEconomyFirst / businessNot accepted
American50 lb (23 kg)70 lb (32 kg)First and Businessover 100 lb (45 kg)
Southwest50 lb (23 kg)SameNot stated
Delta50 lb (23 kg)70 lb (32 kg)Delta One and Delta First100 lb (45 kg) or more
Frontier40 lb (18.1 kg)Same100 lb (45 kg) or more
United50 lb (23 kg)70 lb (32 kg)United Business, United First and United Polarisover 100 lb (45 kg)
Allegiant50 lb (22 kg)SameNot stated
JetBlue50 lb (22.68 kg)70 lb (32 kg)Mint and BlueFirstover 99 lb (45 kg)
Alaska50 lb (23 kg)70 lb (32 kg)First ClassNot stated
Hawaiian50 lb (23 kg)70 lb (32 kg)First ClassNot stated
Sun Country50 lb (23 kg)Sameover 100 lb (45 kg)
Ryanair20 kg (44 lb)Sameover 32 kg (71 lb)
easyJet23 kg (51 lb)Sameover 32 kg (71 lb)
British Airways23 kg (50 lb)32 kg (70 lb)Business and Firstover 32 kg (71 lb)
Air Canada23 kg (50 lb)Sameover 32 kg (71 lb)
Lufthansa23 kg (51 lb)32 kg (71 lb)Business and Firstover 32 kg (71 lb)

"Not accepted" is the weight at which the airline says it won't take the bag at all. Ryanair's 20 kg is the bag it sells by default; you can buy a 23 kg bag at booking.

Overweight vs. oversize bags

An overweight bag is heavier than the included weight (usually 51 lb or more). An oversize bag measures more than the size limit (usually 63 linear inches or more). Each has its own fee, paid on top of the regular bag fee, and the two are handled differently when a bag is both: Delta, United, JetBlue, Alaska and Hawaiian charge both fees, while American, Southwest and Air Canada charge only one.

AirlineOverweight feeOversize feeBoth?
American$30 up to 53 lb, $100 up to 70 lb, $200 up to 100 lb$30 up to 65 in, $200 up to 115 inNot accepted over 115 in (292 cm)Pays one fee
Southwest$100 for 51–70 lb, $200 for 71–100 lb$200 for 63–80 inPays one fee
Delta$100 for 51–70 lb, $200 for 71 to under 100 lb$200 for 63–80 inNot accepted over 80 in (203 cm)Pays both
Frontier$75 for 41–50 lb, $129 for 51–99.99 lb$75 for 63–110 inNot accepted over 110 in (279 cm)Not stated
UnitedFee shown only in United's bag fee calculatorFee shown only in United's bag fee calculatorNot accepted over 115 in (292 cm)Pays both
Allegiant$50 for 51–70 lb, $75 for 71–100 lb$75 over 80 inNot stated
JetBlue$150 for 51–99 lb$150 for 63–80 inNot accepted over 80 in (203 cm)Pays both
Alaska$100 for 51–70 lb, $200 for 71–100 lb$200 for 63–115 inPays both
Hawaiian$100 for 51–70 lb, $200 for 71–100 lb$200 for 63–115 inPays both
Sun Country$25 for 51–60 lb, rising $25 per 10 lb to $125 for 91–99 lb$100 for 63–80 inNot accepted over 80 in (203 cm)Not stated

Overweight fees are steep next to the bag fee. At Southwest, Delta, JetBlue, Alaska and Hawaiian a bag just over 50 lb costs $100 to $150 extra, so moving a few pounds into a second bag or your carry-on is often cheaper. American charges $30 up to 53 lb, Sun Country $25 up to 60 lb and Allegiant $50 up to 70 lb. Frontier's overweight fees start at 41 lb.

Abroad, Ryanair (€13 or £13) and easyJet (£12) charge per kilo over your booked weight, and neither takes a bag over 32 kg. Lufthansa charges a flat rate by route, from USD 65 within Europe to USD 175 on long-haul flights.

Checked bag fees in 2026

American, Delta, United, Southwest and Alaska raised their checked bag fees for tickets bought from April 2026. For domestic economy tickets bought now, the first bag costs $45 at American, Southwest, Delta, United, JetBlue, Alaska and Hawaiian when paid ahead, and the second $55 to $59 (United doesn't list its second bag fee). American, United and JetBlue charge more if you pay at the airport or close to departure. Frontier, Allegiant and Sun Country price bags by flight and date instead of publishing one fee.

  • American: first bag $45 online, $50 at the airport; second bag $55 online, $60 at the airport (within the U.S. and to Canada, Mexico, the Caribbean and Central America). These are Main Cabin fees for tickets issued on or after April 9, 2026. The online price applies when you pay on aa.com or in the app up to 2 hours before departure.
  • Southwest: first bag $45; second bag $55 (Basic, Choice and Choice Preferred fares within the U.S. mainland). Southwest began charging for checked bags on Basic, Wanna Get Away Plus and Anytime fares booked on or after May 28, 2025. Business Select kept two free bags.
  • Delta: first bag $45; second bag $55 (Delta Main and Delta Comfort within the U.S.). These fees apply to tickets bought on or after April 8, 2026. Delta raised the first bag from $35 to $45 and the second from $45 to $55.
  • Frontier: Varies by flight; cheapest when booking. Frontier doesn't publish one checked bag price. It varies by travel dates and when you buy, and Frontier's bag price checker quotes it for booking, before check-in, at check-in, at the airport and at the gate. Airport prices are typically higher.
  • United: first bag $45 prepaid, $50 in the airport lobby (within the U.S.). For tickets bought on or after April 3, 2026, United lists bag fees starting at $45 if you prepay, $50 in the airport lobby and $75 at the gate. Before that they started at $35, $40 and $65.
  • Allegiant: Varies by route; higher at the airport. Allegiant prices checked bags by route, per segment, and the price depends on when you add the bag. Its baggage fees calculator quotes a route, and bags cost more at the airport.
  • JetBlue: first bag $45 more than 24 hours before departure, $49 within 24 hours; second bag $59 more than 24 hours before departure, $69 within 24 hours (off-peak Main and EvenMore fares within the U.S., Latin America, the Caribbean and Canada). Peak dates cost more: $49 for the first bag and $69 for the second when added more than 24 hours before departure, or $59 and $79 within 24 hours. Peak dates include October 10–14, November 19–30 and December 1, 2026 to January 18, 2027.
  • Alaska: first bag $45; second bag $55 (Main Cabin and Saver fares in North America). These fees apply to flights ticketed on or after April 10, 2026. Earlier tickets pay $40 for the first bag ($35 prepaid online) and $45 for the second.
  • Hawaiian: first bag $45; second bag $55 (Main Cabin and Saver fares in North America). These fees apply to flights ticketed on or after April 10, 2026. Earlier tickets pay $40 for the first bag ($35 prepaid online) and $45 for the second.
  • Sun Country: Varies by flight; most at the gate. Sun Country prices bags by flight. A bag option is cheapest when you book, costs more after booking and at the ticket counter, and most at the gate, where a $10 gate handling fee is added.

Most of these airlines waive the first bag for elite members and holders of their co-branded credit cards; each airline's page has the details.

Carry-on vs. checked bag

A carry-on at most US airlines can be 22 x 14 x 9 in (56 x 36 x 23 cm), which adds up to 45 linear inches, against 62 for a checked bag. Most US airlines publish no carry-on weight limit (Frontier and Sun Country set 35 lb), but checked bags are weighed, and the 50 lb limit is the one that usually costs extra. A carry-on avoids the bag fee on most fares; United advises packing liquids over 3.4 oz (100 ml) in your checked bag.

See the carry-on size checker for carry-on and personal item limits by airline. If you would rather skip checked bags altogether,our travel backpack picks are sized to carry on.

Spirit Airlines checked bag size

Spirit Airlines stopped flying on May 2, 2026, so it has no checked bag rules today. If you bought a suitcase for Spirit's limits, check it against the airlines above. Spirit's last carry-on limits are on the carry-on size page.

How this checker works

The checker adds your three measurements and compares the total with each airline's linear limit, in the airline's own units where you measured in them. For British Airways and Ryanair, which limit each side, it lines up your longest side with their longest limit, and so on. It then finds the overweight and oversize fee band your bag falls in, and adds the two fees or takes the higher one, as each airline does. Measured in the other unit, the bag is converted (1 inch = 2.54 cm, 1 lb = 0.4536 kg) with a small allowance for rounding, so a 23 kg bag passes a 50 lb limit.

Fees are each way and on top of the regular bag fee. Where an airline only quotes a fee in its own calculator (United's overweight and oversize fees, Air Canada's), the checker says the fee isn't published rather than guessing. Policies change often; every limit here was checked on October 19, 2026.

Checked bag rules by airline

Sources

Airline pages checked October 19, 2026.